Food from the Garden


We finally had the opportunity to eat from the garden, albeit not too much just a bowlful of pea pods and some lettuce, but they were delicious. Since the lettuce is growing so prolifically I am worried that it might be getting ready to bolt, even though we try to keep it nice and cool.  If it ever should show signs of bolting, we will just harvest the last four heads of lettuce and plant our fall crop. Overall our plants have been doing quite well as you can see from our east square foot garden. If you click on the picture you will get a (very large) detailed picture and can look at each square, though I still need to get some material to mark the squares! After all it is just a raised bed unless you have the squares marked to make it a square foot garden! The Brussels Sprouts are doing quite well, though they have yet to flower.  The broccoli has just put out a small head that I am hoping will get bigger before it starts blooming otherwise our broccoli harvest this year would be not worth the square it was planted in. I am at a loss as to why my butternut squash hasn’t taken off, though we have gotten a cold spell here recently dropping the lows into the low 50s.  But I guess I should count my blessing that ours was not as bad as the other side of the country where a fellow gardener’s garden was destroyed by a hail storm recently. Our thoughts are with you, Anthony, and your garden. Anthony blog is The Compost Bin which contains a great amount of wonderful information on composting and gardening in general. To end the east  box tour, our corn and artichoke plants are doing great.  Although my father came over and said that the corn isn’t getting tall enough which might be because the peas blocking out the evening sun, so I have to remember to make sure I plant the peas on the northeast side of the box next year. I’ll focus on the other plants later on in this post.

Taking a look at a highlight of our new homes established garden, my climbing roses are in full bloom with beautiful bunches of orange roses decorating the eastside of my arch. Since we haven’t finished cleaning up the garden area (there are about 10 plots and we have only tackled 3 so far) this is a shot of arch where the roses were. Unfortunately, a second inherited arch was heavenly with climbers and had tipped over in a winter storm.  So it will just have to start over by cutting the climbers and remove the arch.  At least we will be able to save this arch and its climbers, though this winter we are going to try to fix the bend at the base of the one side of the arch. Then next year we can dedicate more time to training the rose to go through the arch instead of branching uncontrollably away from the arch.

Photo of Egyptian Walking Onion Curtsey of Dave at Dave’s Garden

Now as promised we are getting back to our other plants in the eastern box. Starting with our Egyptian Walking Onion, which we found out has multiple common names including Tree Onions, Egyptian Tree Onions, Top Onions, or Perennial Onions.  Which you can see what our plant it turning into by looking at the picture from Dave’s Garden on the left and comparing it with our onion on the right. From what I have read this onion has a kick in the flavor which sounds like something I would definitely want to add to my food. I cannot wait until the end of summer/beginning of fall.

My bush beans are also doing amazingly well and have provided a few pods for us to eat with some dressing, but we haven’t had the opportunity yet to eat just the peas. The pods are great tasting anyway and if I did not also want to get a few peas I think I would strip the plant bear just eating the pods. The one thing that we learned this year is to place the bush peas in a corner of the garden and not in a center/edge square because they sprawl into the other squares. However, in the corner square might work better because we could provide more support for the bush to latch onto instead of latching onto the burgundy bush beans or burying our white bunching onions which are barely getting any light due to the monster bushes.

Speaking of the burgundy bush beans, just a few days ago I noticed a few purple buds forming on my burgundy bush bean plants and low and behold I now have these beautiful flowers forming on the plant. So I am hoping that soon the pods are going to form and we’ll be able to dry out and store the beans in our food storage this winter. It is a beautiful plant in any case!

Now moving into the greenhouse, where we keep the warm weather loving plants. To the left, we can see that just two weeks after re-potting the tomato plants, they have taken off and already are catching up to where I expected the plants to be. Maybe in a week a few flowers will start forming, though I hope to get the plant outside before that happens. Just need the weather to start cooperating instead of bring us these high 40s low 50s cold nights. I think that the cold nights have actually stopped the peppers from continuing to grow, though this coming week I am hoping to repot them incase they might just be getting root bound in their pots. Once the outdoor temperature stays above 60°F after night then I will be ready to transplant them and also give a few to my father whose pepper plants have just stagnated their growth for the past 3 months. Note: The pepper plant picture is another large picture that might take awhile to load once you click it.

On the other side of the greenhouse you have my other tomato plant, bush acorn squash and watermelon plant all growing quite nicely. And finally another shot of our great Gerber Daisy to bring us to the end of another blog post.

