Carrot Boxes and Transplants


Well I finally got around to building my boxes for long root vegetables and in particular my carrots. So the box actually just has four sides so that the carrots will grow into the bed and get their full length while not needing to buy and then mix the 12” of soil needed for just a single square. When it comes time to move it all I have to do is pick up the box and place it in a new square. The wood I made the box out of is actually just a junk piece I had laying around so I will not care that much when it disintegrates in a year or two.

I also finally started transplanting my indoor starts out into their final squares. Hopefully because this winter was pretty warm we will have an early spring and be able to grow more for a longer period of time. Of course the sage that I did transplant can withstand a bit of freezing, the celery won’t like it if the temperature drops below freezing for more than a few hours. Of course the weather man says the next 10 days are going to be nice and above freezing but here in the northwest it seems that the weatherman is wrong more often then he is right.  

Cleaning out the greenhouse brought a little surprise. I was pulling out weeds (since before we repaired it the rain would come in and soak the ground and then plants would grow) and found a parsley plant which I had pulled thinking is was a weed. Well seeing that most of the root was left (it was growing in gravel) I decided to repot it and take a few leaves from to season dinner, and test out how well they dry. Well the plant lived and below I have a picture of it in its pot.

The cherry tree is starting to show quite a bit of green now, so by April we should have some impressive pictures of a great looking tree. One of my projects for the orchard field though is to add better drainage since it hovers pretty close to the water table and fruit trees hate wet roots.

I also helped my father this week plant is dahlias around his shed. He is planning on adding a walkway that goes from the shed door to the shed’s garage door, but since he wants dahlias around the walkway we needed to plant those now and get the walkway in later. Though my father has a rather efficient method of planting. He first takes his tractor and digs out a 4’ wide trench with the bucket. He then places the dahlias down in their spots and then pours dirt on them. He also marks the position of each dahlia with a stick so come next spring he knows where to place his slug bait.

Because squashes, cucumbers, and other vine plants do not like getting their roots disturbed I went out and bought some Coir pots (Fred Meyer doesn’t sell peat pots because they are a non-renewable resource). I filled them up with dirt and then planted my summer squash, acorn squash and slicing cucumbers. I hope that this year will be better then last when the plants did nothing besides sprout and stay small, never gave any fruit. Once they sprout though I am going to have to raise the lights a bit since the pots are quite tall compared to my plastic sprouting pots. Which reminds me, I recently bought lights for my indoor sprouts. The lights are just a 4 foot florescent tube lamp and 2 daylight rated (6500K) florescent tubes. Problem is now that I am getting so many sprouts that I have to transplant them or buy another set of lights and fixture ($30+additional electricity used). But hopefully the weather will continue to warm up and I can move the plants outside. Enjoy the table of pictures below.

The Cherry Tree’s new growth

The Front East Box – Next leveling Project

Last year’s Celery Plant still holding on

New sprouts

New growth (light green) from last year’s Brussels Sprouts (dark green)

Parsley Plant found in the Greenhouse

Small Red Potato Field

White Bunching Onions

Indoor sprouts under lights

Finished Garden Area (West Front Box, West Box, and East Box)

My father’s walkway plans for his shed

Covering the dahlias with a bit of dirt and a stick to mark their position

The dahlias after my father dumped dirt on them with the tractor

My plantable coir pots

Andrew watering the garden

A little sage transplant

