Overwintering Pepper Plants


Unless you live in a location that stays about 65°F all year long when you plant tomatoes or pepper plants you are treating them as annuals. Up here in the Northwest it is hard enough to get the weather to stay above 65°F even during the summer so growing these plants requires at least a cover over the plants. HPIM5246I am lucky enough to have a greenhouse (unheated right now) so that allows me to grow peppers during the summer but they still die in the fall/winter.

When we started our garden two years ago I put 5 peppers plants into large pots and kept them in the greenhouse for the entire growing season. Once the temperatures started to head below 60°F, I decided to bring them inside to see if they would live through winter. As winter rolled on they lost a good portion of their leaves and stopped growing but to my amazement at the start of spring they put forth new growth allowing them to provided peppers during the summer and get a head start on the seedlings.

So once again I brought them in this winter and now they are just starting to send out their new leaves in preparation for a good growing season. It hasn’t been perfect as each year I have lost one pepper plant (one to Andrew uprooting it and the other to a slug that appeared one day), but if you have the room, by keeping the pepper plant over the winter you will get a large head start for the next year.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jackie on February 18, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    ready to build my gardens this summer??

  2. Posted by Jackie on February 18, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    ready to build my garden this year?

    • By time I am up there the growing season will be almost over… Though you can plant onions and cabbage family plants. They are pretty hardy and could likely handle the cold winter for a spring crop.

Comments are closed.

